Community Action Northumberland Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on Monday 15th November 2021 Via Zoom

Lord Curry of Kirkharle, President in the Chair Present:

> Adrian Hinchcliffe, Chairman of the Board, members and friends of Community Action Northumberland with Mr Andy Dean, Chief Executive Officer, and members of staff, 61 attendees in total.

Apologies were received from Valerie Vaughan.

1. **President's Opening Remarks**

The President opened the meeting by welcoming all participants to the 2021 Annual General Meeting via Zoom.

Lord Curry updated the meeting on local, regional and national changes that had recently occurred highlighting the following:

- Rural proofing. There is an ongoing need to ensure that the government understands the impact on rural communities and business of new legislation, policies and programmes. The need for effective rural proofing has been endorsed by government and an annual proofing report produced.
- **Shared Prosperity Fund**. This is planned to be introduced as the replacement for previous EU structural fund programmes although there is no news at present on the administration of the fund. This may be through local authorities.
- Three significant new bodies have emerged in recent years:
 - The National Innovation Centre for Rural Enterprise (NICRE). This is led by Newcastle University working with other academic and other organisations nationally and focussing on research and development in relation to core rural issues.
 - Rural Design Centre (RDC). Funded by the North of Tyne Combined Authority and ERDF, RDC works alongside NICRE and focuses on supporting local businesses to innovate in tackling these core rural issues.
 - Rural Catalyst. This is the over-arching umbrella for NICRE and RDC and is an extension of the original panel who were instrumental in establishing both organisations. The Rural Catalyst involves local authorities, the North East LEP, NFU, Northumberland National Park, CAN and others.

Lord Curry noted that these North East based initiatives were leading the way in developing innovative solutions for our communities.

Andy Dean asked all those participating with any of CAN formal business to show their agreement by either raising their hand or using the reaction button.

Minutes of the 2020 Annual General Meeting and any matters arising 2.

The minutes were accepted as a true record.

3. Presentation of the 2020-21 Annual Report

The Chairman, Adrian Hinchcliffe, presented the annual report and added his thanks to Miles Middleton and George Hepburn for their outstanding service and contribution over the last few years six and five years respectively, as they stepped down from the board.

4. Presentation of the 2020-21 Accounts

Miles Middleton (Honorary Treasurer and Chairman of CAN F & GP committee) presented the 2020-21 accounts using slides. Miles explained in detail the meaning to a charity of surplus funds as opposed to profit. Surplus is held and will be used for the benefit of the residents and communities of Northumberland.

Miles explained that the Board strive to utilise funds as far as possible for delivery. A key measure is the proportion of funds expended on administration. CAN is proud to say that just 2.9% of funds were expended on administration in 2020-21.

CAN's unrestricted and restricted reserves were also explained.

Miles informed everyone this is his last AGM. He spoke of his enjoyment and pride of being associated with CAN. He wished to pass on his thanks to all staff and directors.

Lord Curry wished to note his thanks as president to Miles.

5. Appointment of Honorary Officers

The following honorary officers were nominated to act for another year and were duly elected:

- (i) Patron: His Grace the Duke of Northumberland
- (ii) **President:** Lord Curry of Kirkharle
- (iii) Vice Presidents: Alan Beith, The Venerable Bob Langley, Sally Black, Rev Canon Bob Burston, David Francis and Sheila Walker.
- (iv) Treasurer: Sian Armstrong(v) Auditor: Robson Laidler

6. Election of the Board

George Hepburn and Miles Middleton have stood down as trustees, both were thanked for their invaluable contributions to CAN over many years.

Under CAN's three-year cycle of Board tenure, the following Board members continue until a future AGM: Sian Armstrong, Jan Ashdown, Adrian Hinchcliffe, Tony Hood, Jean Humphrys and Lesley Tudor-Snodin.

The following existing Board members are at the end of a three-year cycle and were nominated to the Board for a further 3 years: Liz Elliott and Valerie Vaughan.

In addition, the Venerable Dr Catherine Sourbut-Groves was co-opted onto the Board earlier in 2021 was now nominated to the Board for 3 years.

All board nominations were approved.

Lord Curry gave his sincere thanks to George Hepburn for his unstinting support to CAN whilst a trustee.

7. 70 years of CAN

Andy Dean introduced the history of CAN through the years form 1940 to the present day, supported by staff who described CAN's current key activities. A recording of this was available for a period following the meeting for anyone not able to attend.

A Dean thanked the staff and trustees for their contribution to CAN.

8. Thanks and closure

Lord Curry thanked staff, trustees and attendees.

Adrian closed the AGM with thanks to:

- Lord Curry for his leadership
- Miles Middleton for his presentation
- All CAN's supporters, members, staff and trustees, and those that attended this AGM for their ongoing support.

Best wishes were expressed to all.

The meeting closed at 3.50pm.